Prawn skewers with rice salad remind me of home…

…not my family’s home, because braised pork belly hot-pot would remind me of that, I mean home as in Australia. This dish embodies Australian cooking to me – the taste of the sea, the freshness of lemon zest and the fusion of Mediterranean and Asian flavours. Every time I cook this dish, I am transported back home to a busy restaurant, dining alfresco in the summertime…

This one’s from my first Bill Granger book, Open Kitchen. It’s a real gem. There’s quite a lot of preparation but it’s still simple because there’s not very much room for error.

I cheat a little because I use a toaster instead of grilling the bread – same effect, but a lot quicker. You’ll also find that there are a lot of spare breadcrumbs in the final mixture. Don’t waste them whatever you do! They add a yummy crunchy texture to the rice salad at the end 🙂

For the rice salad, I am always a little more generous with the olive oil and lemon juice. The most difficult part? Tasting it. It’s hard to stop feeding yourself!

This time, I served the prawns with some halved cherry tomatoes and also sprinkled some Peri-Peri sauce on the rice for some extra kick.

Here’s the recipe:

Comments
19 Responses to “Prawn skewers with rice salad remind me of home…”
  1. Matt Kay says:

    Skewered prawns always get my attention but this recipe combines them with one of my favorite flavor combinations; lemon, parsley and olive oil. Great recipe and beautiful pictures.

    Cheers!
    Matt Kay

    • jennynoowyn says:

      Thanks Matt for my very first blog comment! You have to try this recipe it’s one of my faves, so fresh tasting. The lemon zest is definitely the key ingredient here… Could even add some chilli into it (I know you must be a fan of chilli!) Have a nice day, Jenny

  2. Cyndi L says:

    These look amazing! My mother makes fantastic shrimp skewers, with lots of great crusty stuff on them too. I’m going to try out yours 🙂

  3. Looks delicious! Why are prawns so good??? I will definitely give this recipe a try. Thanks for sharing =)

  4. Karen says:

    The prawns look amazing! I love the crusty breadcrumbs. Yum!

  5. This looks great.. Thank you. p.s I subscribed to your blog.. I would love for you to subscribe to mine as well. I think you will like my daily post. http://www.ashandlewplus2.com

  6. Maxx says:

    Hi Jenny! This looks great and I will check back here regularly as I thoroughly enjoy cooking new ways of cooking. I have just got into Duck and pork belly. Your prawns will be next 🙂
    I hope you are well and having a great life ! 🙂

    • jennynoowyn says:

      Max! Hello! What a nice surprise! This is a new thing for as you probably know from FB, but it’s very quickly grown into an obsession 😉 Please come back and let me know how you get on with the prawns! Would be awesome if you could post a picture of them in the comments too! (not sure if that’s possible)…

      You must try them, they are sooooo tasty!

      I hope the film direction thing is going great for you! x

  7. This looks very Cave-friendly! YUM!!

  8. Looks delish! I love the addition of bread crumbs to give it that crunchy coating without deep frying! I will definitely be trying it this way. I love gremolata and I even have made a similar shrimp using cilantro instead of parsley but this is a keeper. Thank you!

    Best,
    Veronica
    The Enchanted Cook

    • jennynoowyn says:

      mmm cilantro woule be very nice with this… it’d be a little more subtle.. Perhaps you could try with both – that’d be nice! be sure to tell me how it goes though!

  9. January says:

    the prawns look lovely. i’m a certified rice-eater but haven’t tried rice salad yet. i might give this a try 🙂

