Eataly is Disneyland for foodies

Any buyer’s remorse I was harbouring from my iPad purchase disappeared when I downloaded the Gourmet Live application. If you have an iPad, download it. It’s free and full of great recipes and articles and you keep getting free content by simply reading more articles. It’s like a free bite-sized version of the magazine.

I have Eataly to thank the Gourmet Live application for. On the flight to New York, Gourmet Live was the only application I could use offline (please, airlines start offering WiFi onboard!). But there was a silver lining, an article about a very recent New York food sensation – Eataly. Eataly is like Marqt on steroids – a kind of adult amusement park of gourmet Italian food. Mikee and I found our selves lost in Eataly for hours admiring and tasting food, drinking Italian wine, flicking through Italian cookbooks, sipping espresso and sampling chocolate covered orange rind candies. You know that feeling when you’ve been to IKEA on a Saturday? How because there are no windows, your brain is confused about what time it is and whether it’s dark or light outside? This is how Eataly is, only in a good way. So good you’ll line up for 15 minutes with all the other New Yorkers who also want a taste of Eataly.

I have to admit, I did think the place was a little too branded and did scream ‘we’re setting up what’s going to be a big huge chain’. But after a while, I didn’t mind the promotional signs around the store – they were kind of cute. It somehow worked, especially for the larger audience, who I am sure they are trying to appeal to, educate and eventually sell a lot of food and product to.

If you get the chance to go to Eataly in New York or one of their Italian or Japanese stores, you must block a day out for it. Trust me, you will be impressed!

Eataly New York
200 5th Avenue (cross: 23rd St)
New York, NY
http://www.newyork.eataly.it/index.php

Comments
22 Responses to “Eataly is Disneyland for foodies”
  1. Disneyland for foodies… *dreams* you had me with the very top pic of gorgeous red meat, lol. Thanks for checking out my blog – absolutely love yours! How many years did you live in Melbourne? It’s a beautiful part of the world.. but then again, I’ve always wanted to visit New York 🙂

    • jennynoowyn says:

      thanks 🙂 Lived in Melbs for about 4-5 years after finishing uni in Adelaide… I always dream of living in Melbourne again and probably will but there’s still a lot more of the world to see 🙂 So you’re Malaysian.. I’m sure you’ve been to Laksa King in Flemington? yummm 🙂

  2. elra says:

    Sounds like a fabulous place !

  3. fooddreamer says:

    What a great review! I love your analogy to Ikea and feeling like you are out of time and space entirely. I think I would feel very overwhelmed at Eataly because I get crazy and gluttonous just in a store like Trader Joe’s! But it might be worth a look.

    • jennynoowyn says:

      Thank you 🙂 I’ve never been to a Trader Joe’s before but I work with two people who lived in San Francisco who sometimes mention it…. If you’re in New York, you MUST go! I was so impressed I went twice on my trip to NY!

  4. I am DYING to go here…might have to plan a special trip just to check this out. Thanks for the preview

  5. Sandra says:

    I’d walk away from there, or waddle away, a few pounds heavier. Just looking at the bread makes my mouth water.

  6. Adelina says:

    Will add to my places to visit when I am in NY.

  7. Joy Zhang says:

    Hey Jenny

    I’m glad to have found your site! What an interesting venue — hopefully I will be able to visit soon (I am trying to convince Collin to take me to New York next year!)

    Lovely to meet you and keep up the great work ^_^

  8. Susi says:

    That looks like such an awesome place. I could probably spend days there and enjoy myself. Great review!

  9. Cook is Good says:

    I totally agree on your title! I’m from Turin (Italy) where the first Eataly was opened. Dreaming abour goinr to Eataly NY! Giorgia

  10. Kita says:

    I had to email this off to my boss who is a Disney-holic (seriously, he needs to seek out a support group), so I sent this to him as a joke on where he could send me 🙂

  11. briarrose says:

    Oh my….I’m pretty sure I could happily lose myself in that store. 😉

  12. Dana19018 says:

    Hi. Just saw you on Foodbuzz and had to come on over and check out your blog. Love it. I also have an IPad and just downloaded Gourmet Live at your suggestion. 🙂 I love it., Very cool.

    Hope to see you on the blog sometime.

    Best,

    Dana @ Bookgirl in the kitchen

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] by jennynoowyn on December 5, 2010 · Leave a Comment  During our visit to Eataly in New York, we ate a very memorable plate of fusilli with ragu. The fusilli was long like a long unravelled […]

  2. […] Aside from the amazing selection of chutneys, I thought the Hawarden Estate Farm Shop was a store worthy of mention. A great shop selling the best food produced on-site, or sourced in and around North Wales and neighbouring Cheshire. The store even has a small cafe where you can enjoy a relaxing cup of tea and choose from the many home-style cakes – a kind of boutique English version of Eataly NY. […]



Leave a Reply

