Eataly inspired long fusilli with Italian sausages

During our visit to Eataly in New York, we ate a very memorable plate of fusilli with ragu. The fusilli was long like a long unravelled phone cord making each bite an extraordinary textural experience where your mouth feels the pasta spring out, filling it with the flavoursome ragu and the al-dente pasta. We had to re-create this wonderful experience at home and we knew it was all in the pasta.

Thankfully, we were at Eataly so we were able to buy the same pasta and figure out how to make a similar sauce at home. This recipe was inspired by one of Mario Batali’s and is so tasty, you definitely want to try it if you can get long fusilli at your local Italian delicatessen.

Here’s the recipe:

Lungo Fusilli con Salsiccia

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 tablespoon of unsalted butter

1 large onion, diced

450 grams (1 pound) Italian pork sausages, removed from casing and rolled into small balls

6 tablespoons of tomato paste

½ cup of dry white wine

½ milk

Freshly ground salt and pepper

450 grams (1pound) fusilli

Freshly grated Parmigiano reggiano, for serving

Method:

1)   In a large pan, heat the olive oil and butter over high heat

2)   Add the onion and cook until soft and golden brown

3)   Add the sausage, stir occasionally (drain excess fat is necessary) until sausage is very brown and somewhat crisp

4)   Add the tomato paste and stir often until it turns a deep rust colour

5)   Add the wine and stir frequently until evaporated

6)   Stir in the milk and season with salt and pepper to taste

7)   Reduce heat and simmer for about 15 minutes

8)   Meanwhile, cook the fusilli in salted water according to packet directions

 

LETS GET SOCIAL!
Follow meltingbutter.com on the social web to keep up to date with new posts and get daily inspiration on food, travel, music, fashion, culture and lifestyle:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/meltingbutterdotcom
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/jennynoowyn/
Instagram: http://instagram.com/meltingbutterdotcom
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jennynoowyn

 

9)   Scoop out ½ cup of cooking water and drain the rest.

10)   Add the pasta to the sauce and splash water is necessary into the pan to loosen the sauce

11)   Serves in bowls with Parmigiano. Makes 6 servings

Comments
24 Responses to “Eataly inspired long fusilli with Italian sausages”
  1. This dish looks lovely. Greayt choice of pasta.. Luna

  2. Katerina says:

    This is a very hearty and comfortable meal. I like the shape of fusilli pasta very much.

  3. Wonderful! Looks so yummy!

  4. briarrose says:

    Oh yum…love the long pasta.

  5. Dimah says:

    Wow, this looks delicious! Yum!

  6. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  7. My says:

    Ah, I want that for dinner ! I love fancy pasta. They look great.

  8. Letizia says:

    What a wonderful blog!!!! Simply gorgeous!!!!

  9. I am going to see if I can’t find those fusilli noodles. The sauce sounds really good, will try in the meantime till I find those noodles, thanks for pasta night dinner idea.

  10. Dana Salvo says:

    Love the name and the dish looks great!! Yum

  11. Stella says:

    Yum!! I haven’t been to Eataly yet, I’ve heard some stories it is totally over hyped. Do you think so? The dish looks awesome and you were able to buy the same pasta there, so that doesn’t sound overhyped to me! Will have to try that recipe soon! 🙂

    • jennynoowyn says:

      I actually hadn’t heard abut Eataly until a few days before I went…so definitely not over hyped for me! But I’m sure there has been a whole lot of Hype given the lines to get in… It’s a great place though…if you’re in NY you should definitely check it out 🙂

  12. Oh my goodness – YUM. This looks incredible, nothing like beautiful pasta & sausages for comfort food 🙂

  13. Cookette says:

    That looks sooooooo good!!!!

  14. Katrina says:

    I wish I were eating this right now! Yum!!

    Thanks for visiting me over at Foodbuzz 😉 I look forward to your yummy recipes!

  15. Shayla says:

    This looks so good, I’m going to have to make soon. Thanks for sharing!! I love, love, love this site!

  16. Courtney says:

    This looks delicious – my husband would LOVE it. Thanks for the recipe!!

  17. This looks fabulous! I will have to try it once I get my hands on some of that pasta!

  18. Ling says:

    I had this dish from Eataly the first time I visited! And boy was it memorable. I have to admit, I was never a big fan of the boxed Barilla fusilli, but fusilli from Eataly was absolutely amazing. The long, springy al dente strands that perfectly captured the meaty sauce caught me off guard, and I became an instant fan. I will have to go back and buy a box and try this recipe at home!

  19. Emily Bites says:

    This looks amazing!

  20. Julie says:

    I’ve made this twice and it is very good. I used hot Italian turkey sausage and 1% milk to save on calories and it tastes great!

