Hawarden Estate Farm Shop and the romantic side of chutney

One of the most beautiful aspects of a relationship is the sharing of food and food experiences, which ultimately influence each other’s day-to-day food habits. I know I’ve influenced Mikee’s eating habits with my Vietnamese heritage by introducing rice as a regularly enjoyed ingredient in our household and he has also influenced and enriched my foodie life by introducing the vast, versatile and wonderful world of British chutney to me. We eat chutney almost as regularly as we eat rice (mainly as a pre-dinner snack with cheese and crackers) and I admittedly have grown to really love the flavour of sweet, caramelised fruits combined with the bitey, earthiness of cheese and crackers. The perfect snack to whet your appetite for what’s to come!

So you can imagine what we had to buy on our recent trip to England to spend Christmas with Mikee’s family – chutney, and lots of it. Lucky for us, Nicki and Paul took us just over the border to North Wales to the Hawarden Estate Farm Shop, or ‘chutneyland’ as one could probably describe it. I might just be green to chutney shopping, but this shop had a literal wall full of every gourmet chutney flavour you could ever dream up. Being quite overwhelmed by the choice of chutney, I left the decision making to Mikee (the chutney expert) who ended up choosing these:

Aside from the amazing selection of chutneys, I thought the Hawarden Estate Farm Shop was a store worthy of mention. A great shop selling the best food produced on-site, or sourced in and around North Wales and neighbouring Cheshire. The store even has a small cafe where you can enjoy a relaxing cup of tea and choose from the many home-style cakes – a kind of boutique English version of Eataly NY.

I could’ve been wooed by the rustic farmhouse style merchandising, but the fresh produce was some of the best I’ve seen… There’s something very romantic about seeing deep orange carrots still covered in dirt and festive green Brussels sprouts still on their stalks. The British often get a bad rap for their increasingly poor food habits but we easily forget about the population of Brits who are really dedicated to sustainably farmed, organic, quality produce and keep great shops like this one open – I have them (and Nicki & Paul!) to thank for all the Chutneys I am about to enjoy!

Hawarden Estate Farm Shop
Chester Road
Hawarden
Flintshire CH5 3FB
United Kingdom
http://hawardenestate.co.uk/

LETS GET SOCIAL!
Follow meltingbutter.com on the social web to keep up to date with new posts and get daily inspiration on food, travel, music, fashion, culture and lifestyle:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/meltingbutterdotcom
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/jennynoowyn/
Instagram: http://instagram.com/meltingbutterdotcom
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jennynoowyn

Comments
39 Responses to “Hawarden Estate Farm Shop and the romantic side of chutney”
  1. i’m a chutney addict too. love it with cheese and crackers or simply spread on toast.

    love the first photo. with i could grab one of those Brussels Sprouts stalk.

    have a wonderful week

  2. Pauline says:

    Love chutney too. We have loads of farm shops here too and it’s more popular than ever. Did you get to try any real cider when you were over?

  3. Those stick sprouts look amazing. I love all kinds of chutneys and pickles. Many years ago I remember my grandmother making piccalilli pickles. I don’t know what ever happened to her recipe but I wish I had it now.

  4. I love England and the chutney that is produced there. The caramized onion one sounds divine. I will have to check them out online and perhaps order a bottle or two. 🙂

  5. Chutney with crackers and cheese – that’s sooo good!
    Great photos!

  6. Cakewhiz says:

    Chutneys are the best. Especially the spicy tangy kind. Seems like you were able to find quite a variety 🙂

  7. Zenobia says:

    That caramelized onion chutney is going to be something to die for! Hope you snagged some.

    And I’ve never seen those stick sprouts…look like something from Mars 🙂

    You have a fantastic blog! I’ll be back.

  8. Lefty says:

    With those vegetables you talked about, I’ll bet those chutneys are indeed fantastic. That whole market looks like a really cool place; are you going to share some of the chutneys you make with them (pleading)?

  9. The first time I ever tried chutney was while in South Africa last year and I must admit, I wasn’t a huge fan…but I may need to give it another try after reading this post! Thanks 🙂

  10. Oh this looks gorgeous – I never got to Wales when I was living in the UK, I would so love to travel around a bit more when I go back. The produce is just so different to Australia – and farmer’s markets/ shops seem to do alot better over there too…

  11. What a lovely array of fresh foods! These pictures could make anyone love brussel sprouts if you don’t already. The chutney’s look smashing. Great informational post!

  12. Greg says:

    I so wish we had something like this in the USA, Florida. I love independent markets. It makes me want to start my own. I hope it is ok if I share this on my foodblog.

  13. Kita says:

    That produce looks beautiful! I have never had chutney, maybe I should make both my BF and I try it to help build our relationship 😉

  14. Jessica says:

    Hi! Thanks for accepting on foodbuzz. I love your blog! I enjoy the informative aspect of it as much as the delicious looking food. Keep up the great work and I am definitely looking forward to reading more posts from you.

    I love chutney and only made it once to eat it with some cheese and wine but I may just have to explore more in that territory! Share more chutney experience when you can!

    – Jessica (Bacon and Souffle)

    • jennynoowyn says:

      Hi Jessica, thank so much for the kind words 🙂 We have been talking about making our own chutney once we get through all those jars we bought! It’ll definitely be one for the blog! Looking forward to sharing more food stories with you too!

  15. latache says:

    i love chutney, my favorite, Nut-parmesan-tomatopaté with a lightly spiced chutney, salad and perfumed rice

  16. Anna says:

    What a lovely market, those vegetables look fantastic, great pictures too.

  17. What a fun blog, I love it! I’m so glad you invited me to take a peek, I’m so excited to read through your posts. Chutney is waaaaay yummier than jelly IMHO! 😉
    I as well, would love for you to join my site, Simply Healthy Family if you would like.
    Cheers!

  18. fooddreamer says:

    I’m not a huge fan of chutney, but perhaps I just haven’t tasted enough good versions. But the “stick sprouts” in that first picture are intriguing!

  19. thanks so much for your blog comment + message on foodbuzz! can’t believe i made it to top 9 either!!! hahaha. i would love to subscribe! please subscribe to mine too if you wish. i love making new blog friends! 🙂 i was in amsterdam a couple of times, but only for lay-overs (when i was traveling to spain). i love europe, so this blog is going to be delightful to read! thanks for the contact! looking forward to your posts.

  20. The vegetables look amazing! Those brussels sprouts are so bright and pretty. Looks like a lovely place.

  21. Christina says:

    Oh all those vegetables look delicious. I love chutney too…my favorite it cranberry pepper chutney..yummy! 🙂

  22. Reiko says:

    Beautiful place!! Spending a few hours at a place like this, being inspired by fresh produce, and creating fun dishes using those produce would be my definition of a perfect weekend!! 🙂

  23. Chef Dennis says:

    every culture has so many delicious foods for us to enjoy, I’m glad your trip to England was a happy one! Thanks for sharing the images with us
    Dennis

  24. Rita says:

    Hi there! I just want to tell you that I nominated you for the Stylish Blogger Award, because I love your blog! Check out my page to see it. 😛

  25. Amazing photos and I love chutney too but never tried eating them with cracker Will be back to explore more!

  26. Love chutney. Imagine a place that sells all kinds of chutneys. You were in heaven!

  27. Love this post and love the pic of the ‘stick sprouts’… Glad you had an awesome trip. You are sooo inspiring. 🙂

  28. My says:

    It’s true that there are many passionated gardeners and organic cooks in UK. They make the best veggie soups on the planet.
    Good idea to cut the sticks of sprouts… as I remember getting freezing my fingers in our family garden, collecting the baby cabbages one by one. LOL

  29. Cristina says:

    Love the images of the veggies…how interesting those stick sprouts. Thanks for sharing some about your visit over the holidays. 😉

  30. Hi Jenny, sorry it’s taken me so long to find your message on Food Buzz – it’s been pretty overwhelming in Brisbane, as you’ve probably heard from the news. Things are slowly returning to a kind of normal though. It’s great to finally visit your blog and I’ll enjoy keeping up with you! love those sprout sticks- what are, they, brussell sprouts? Seriously? And I hear you on the chutney thing. I just made up a big batch of mango chutney and I’ve been finding any excuse to dip in. Last one was deep fried chicken wings! look forward to seeing you round the blogosphere! cheers, angela

  31. Tes says:

    I wish I had this kind of farm shop nearby to shop. Everything looks so fresh and wonderful. I am a chutney lover, too… especially with these kind of fresh ingredient 🙂

  32. Cookette says:

    Chutney + Cheese = yum!!!! Great photos too 🙂

  33. Celia says:

    Chutney is totally romantic! Especially when a little spicy 😉

  34. Great photos; I love chutney almost as much as I love sprouts.

